You’ve heard about the launch of their much-awaited album, and with it being released on Spotify, it’s definitely the time to talk about what this Narcloudia Day-Blind Stars Album is truly about!

The Furiosa community announced the launch of Narcloudia ‘Day-Blind Stars’ album coinciding with their Furiosa Annual Halloween Party. And with this band’s hot new album finally released on Spotify, Narcloudia’s different take on music is certainly a unique addition to the Philippine music scene.

Narcloudia is composed of the trio Beatrix Alcala (vocals/guitars/synth), Karla Pundaodaya (drums/vocals), and Domini Robledo (bass).

And you’re probably wondering right now, why did we say that their music is “a unique take in the OPM scene”? Well, this hot girl band’s music is very dreamlike, gothic, and shoegaze! Something that we don’t get hear everyday in the Philippine music, right?

Formed in Singapore back in 2012, this indie dreampop Narcloudia’s music is very trippy to say the least. So don’t be shocked if hallucinogenic drugs would come to mind while listening to their songs.

Don’t believe us? Here is the official video for ‘Tracy’! One of the nine tracks in their ‘Day-Blind Stars’ album.

Psychedelic—that is definitely the word that came to mind while listening to and watching ‘Tracy’! And though you are very much sober (although this may vary depending on the person reading, of course) right now, you can’t help but be entranced into the rhythm with this tune.

But wait, don’t forget that’s just only one song found in the Narcloudia ‘Day-Blind Stars’ album! Of course, we enlisted here just for you their nine new tracks that you should definitely give a listen to:

  • Tracy
  • Howl
  • Crisis
  • Charmed
  • Spiraling Monday
  • Colour Wheel
  • Kettle Mettle
  • Day-Blind Stars
  • Stream of Subconsciousness

The meaning behind the name ‘Day-Blind Stars’

By first learning what the title of this hot new album was, one might begin to ponder “why is this the title?”

If you’re familiar with the American poet Wendell Berry and his anthology ‘The Peace of Wild Things,’ then you might recall the way Berry wrote about his grief.

Through his grief, Berry realized that there is no other option but to move forward. And in order to do so, he follows the ‘day-blind stars’ that he believes would light his way.

The Narcloudia ‘Day-Blind Stars’ album used Wendell Berry’s cathartic-inducing literary work as a reference. Beatrix Alcala, the vocalist of the band herself, was going through some hardships and difficulties when the album was written. Thus the ‘day-blind stars’ reference was the perfect title for their new album.

We definitely find this title very interesting. Not only did the Narcloudia produce a new flare in the OPM scene, but you will also appreciate the essence and substance that this band has to offer.

Narcloudia during their debut launch of #DayBlindStars at Mow’s Bar last October 27.

Hands down to this trio, we can’t wait to see what’s next for the Narcloudia. And we bet you can’t wait to add their songs to your playlist!

And you can also check their Bandcamp here too!

So what do you think of the Narcloudia Day-Blind Stars Album? Are you getting all the trippy vibes that we are definitely feeling? Do tell us in the comment section below! Or better yet, send us a message on our Facebook page and follow us on Twitter @UDoUph. We’d love to hear your thoughts!