15 Finalists for 2020 PhilPop Songwriting Competition Revealed!

Out of thousands of submissions, these 15 are gonna be battling it out for the prestigious PhilPop title.

If there are two things the pandemic crisis can’t stop, it’s the music artists’ drive to make songs for the world to hear, and the premier songwriting competition in the country’s long-running advocacy to provide these hopefuls with a platform. This year, PhilPop is braving through the difficulties presented by the new normal to continue nurturing our future global hitmakers.

Music Breaking Borders

PhilPop Songwriting Festival 2020 is an initiative of the PhilPop Music Foundation, chaired by Mr. Manny V. Pangilinan. This year’s PhilPop is co-presented by SMART, MERALCO, and MAYNILAD, with official partners, Warner Music Philippines, Kadasig, and MinPop.

Known for its sustainable platform and world-class mentorship program, the songwriting institution continues its nationwide search for songwriters and composers who can create game-changing music that paves the way for cultural conversations and mirrors our everyday reality with substance. From thousands of aspirants who have submitted their entry for 2020 PhilPop Music Festival, we now have a roster of 15 finalists edging closer to the championship title.

The last batch of finalists was announced during the livestream of PhilPop Q&A and Kuwentuhan Sessions last September 23, 2020 (Wednesday). In no particular order, here are the finalists from Metro Manila, North Luzon, and South Luzon with their respective music entry.

North Luzon:
Abegail Esteban and TJ Paeldon – “Agsardeng”
Lolito Go – “Balikan”
Angelic Mateo – “Paos”

South Luzon:
Kulas Basilonia – “Para Kay Catriona”
Chochay Magno – “Lunod”
Princess Roselle C. Germina – “Bitaw”

Metro Manila:
Kian Dionisio – “Huling Sayaw”
Aikee – “Bestiny”
Aikee – “Mapa”

The other six contenders were already named prior to this new announcement. They are from the Visayas and Mindanao clusters, which include amateur and professional composers and songwriters such as Jerika Teodorico, Noah Alejandre and Reanne Borela, Michael Catarina, John Cadeliña Christian Chiu, and Sherwin Fugoso.

Making it to the finals is not an easy feat. The entries went through multiple rounds of adjudication process led by Festival Chair and PhilPop Musicfest National Artist Ryan Cayabyab, as well as Foundation Board Members, adjudicators, partners, and Warner Music Philippines Executives.

Related: Going Global: PhilPop announces plans with #MusicBreakingBorders

Any favorite from this year’s PhilPop Music Festival finalists?

Tell us in the comments below! Also, for more updates on the latest happenings on music, gaming, and entertainment, feel free to follow us Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @udouph. And if you liked this article, make sure to stay tuned with us on udou.ph.

Please Wait ...


Exit mobile version