It has been three years since the Ateneo Blue Eagles dethroned the Green Archers from the Championship Title.

Up until now, the UAAP Basketball Kings remain as THE basketball kings. And as you can obviously see based on our title and heading, they are the Ateneo Blue Eagles. Since 2017, these guys from the Ateneo de Manila University have won the championship title back-to-back in the annual UAAP Men’s Basketball League. And until this year 2019, it seems like they have no plans on passing the crown to someone else–not even to the hungry UST Growling Tigers.

UAAP Season 80 & Season 81

Before the recent UAAP Seasons, the top rival of the Ateneo Blue Eagles were the De La Salle Green Archers from the De La Salle University. Between the two, they were just claiming and passing the championship from one to the other. However, since the dethronement of the Archers during the Season 80 after 3 thrilling games, the Blue Eagles have been enjoying their seat at the top.


Photo taken from

Last Season 81, the finals happened between the Ateneo Team and the improved UP Fighting Maroons. You may remember the big ‘Battle of Katipunan’ which made the hashtags #AtinTo and #AtinTwo trend. After the do-or-die Game 2 though, folks from the University of the Philippines ended up bowing to the superior Blue Eagles who was crushing them out by 18 points (99-81).

UAAP Season 82

Meanwhile, the most recent Men’s Basketball battle of Season 82 happened just yesterday, with Ateneo remaining victorious. This time, their opponent was the hungry UST Growling Tigers who was remarkably resilient through their journey.

With notable players like Captain CJ Cansino, Soulemane Chabi Yo, Renzo Subido and others under the guidance of Coach Aldin Ayo, the Tigers from the University of Santo Tomas were trying their hardest to fight back. But against the sharp talons of the Eagle, they failed to satisfy their hunt with 7 points down (79-86).

Tiebreaker Times Ateneo Blue Eagles complete historic 16-0 UAAP 82 sweep, seal three-peat ADMU Basketball News UAAP UST Zachy Huang UST Men's Basketball UAAP Season 82 Men's Basketball UAAP Season 82 Thirdy Ravena Tab Baldwin Soulemane Chabi Yo SJ Belangel Rhenz Abando Renzo Subido Mike Nieto Matt Nieto Mark Nonoy Isaac Go Enrique Caunan Ateneo Men's Basketball Angelo Kouame Aldin Ayo Adrian Wong

Photo taken from Tiebreaker Times

Meanwhile with a standing of 16-0, the Ateneo Blue Eagles proved that they are on another level. They won against every opponent possible in this UAAP Season 82 Men’s Basketball League, which is not surprising but still commendable. Literally, these guys swept through the other universities before reclaiming their place in the sky.

With the notable and humble Thirdy Ravena, SJ Belangel, and Captain Mike Nieto and others under the coaching of Tab Baldwin, these Ateneans made sure that the crown stays where it still is–in Katipunan (specifically in Loyola Heights).

Once again, congratulations to the Ateneo Blue Eagles for winning the Men’s Basketball Championship title for the 11th time! Iba din!

Were you able to watch the games of Ateneo? Also, which opponent was the most thrilling for you? Let us know by sharing your thoughts through the comments below! Or just simply hit us up on our Facebook or Twitter account, @udouph.